Answer library
UAE Business Setup Questions Answered
Direct, citable answers on cost, jurisdiction, visas and timelines — reviewed against current free zone and DED fee schedules.
Frequently asked questions
Everything founders ask before choosing a provider.
- How much does it cost to set up a company in the UAE in 2026?
- A free zone company typically costs AED 12,500 to AED 24,000 in year one including licence, registration and establishment card. A mainland (DED) licence starts around AED 15,200. Each UAE residence visa adds roughly AED 5,690 in government and PRO steps. Use the Business Setup AE cost calculator for a line-by-line estimate.
- Is Business Setup AE a business setup company?
- No. Business Setup AE is an independent marketplace. We list and compare packages from verified UAE formation firms and pass your enquiry to the specific provider you choose. We never form the company ourselves and we do not add commission to the prices providers publish.
- Which is cheaper — free zone or mainland?
- Free zone is usually cheaper in year one and allows 100% foreign ownership with a flexi-desk. Mainland costs more because of Ejari premises and notarised MOA requirements, but it lets you trade anywhere in the UAE and bid for government contracts.
- Do I need to be in the UAE to register a company?
- Most free zones allow remote incorporation with attested documents and a video KYC. You must enter the UAE for the medical test, Emirates ID biometrics and visa stamping if you take a residence visa.
- How does Business Setup AE verify providers?
- Every listed firm is checked for a valid UAE trade licence, minimum trading history, published pricing, and customer review consistency. Verified badges are reviewed annually and removed if a provider misrepresents pricing.
- How long does UAE company formation take?
- Free zone formations complete in 3 to 7 working days once documents are attested. Mainland licences take 5 to 10 working days. Residence visa processing adds a further 7 to 14 working days after licence issuance.
- How does Business Setup AE verify package prices?
- Every package marked Business Setup AE Verified was read from the provider's own public page or PDF and recorded with its source URL and check date. We do not use third-party price claims, and we never convert a 'starting from' or 'government cost from' figure into a fixed all-in price.
- Why do some packages say 'Not stated' instead of listing a visa or bank account?
- Because the provider does not publish that detail. We only record what is explicitly stated in the source. 'Not stated' means unknown, not excluded — ask the provider to confirm in writing before paying.
- Why can't I compare two prices directly?
- Prices are only comparable when they share the same basis. A government-cost figure excludes professional fees, and a 'starting from' figure is an entry price, so comparing either against a fixed all-inclusive package would be misleading.
- What does the verification date mean?
- It is the date Business Setup AE last checked the provider's published source. The current dataset was verified on 2026-09-13. We flag packages for re-checking after 30 days and mark them as requiring re-verification after 60 days, because UAE licence and government fees change.
- Do providers pay for better rankings?
- No. Sponsored and Featured placements are labelled as such. Paid placement does not affect organic comparison results, price sorting, filters or Find My Setup matches.
- Does Business Setup AE set up companies?
- No. Business Setup AE is a comparison marketplace. We publish verified provider packages and pass your enquiry to the provider you choose.
Editorially independent
Rankings are driven by price, rating and response time — never by payment.
Sourced from listed providers
Fee ranges reflect the packages published by the 63 verified firms listed on this marketplace.