The Cheapest Trade Licence in the UAE: What the Lowest Fee Actually Buys
10 min readUpdated 2026-09-09Prices verified 2026-09-13Editorial policyHow we verify
Quick answer
The cheapest licences published on this marketplace are zero-visa free zone licences in the northern emirates, starting at AED 3,813, verified 2026-09-13. That fee buys a licence and a registered address only. It excludes residence visas, the Establishment Card and the immigration file, and it says nothing about renewal.
What is the cheapest trade licence in the UAE right now?
The lowest published prices on this marketplace are zero-visa free zone licences from the northern emirates. They are legitimate licences from real authorities, and they are genuinely cheap — but the number that attracts you is a licence-only number.
Three things are always outside it: the residence visa build-up per person, the Establishment Card or immigration file that must exist before any visa, and renewal. Compare offers only after you have put those three back in.
Every AED figure in the tables below is either a provider-published package price read from that provider's own source and re-verified on 2026-09-13, or an indicative Business Setup AE cost model clearly labelled as such. Where an authority or provider does not publish a figure, this page says "Not stated" instead of estimating one.
| Zone or route | Lowest published price | Visas at that price |
|---|---|---|
| Ajman | from AED 3,813 | Zero-visa tier |
| SHAMS (Sharjah) | from AED 4,462 | Zero-visa tier |
| RAKEZ (Ras Al Khaimah) | from AED 4,680 | Zero-visa tier |
| Fujairah Creative City | from AED 6,000 | Zero-visa tier |
| Meydan Free Zone (Dubai) | from AED 9,750 | Zero-visa tier |
| IFZA (Dubai) | from AED 10,062 | Zero-visa tier |
| Dubai South | from AED 9,750 | Zero-visa tier |
- compare licence costs side by side — Verified packages on identical cost lines
- free zone packages with published prices — Every listed free zone package and its source
What the headline price leaves out
This is the whole point of the article. A licence-only fee is not a first-year cost, and the gap between the two is not marginal — with one residence visa it can easily be larger than the licence fee itself.
| Excluded item | Indicative amount | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Establishment Card (free zone) | AED 1,850 | Indicative site-wide model |
| Immigration / e-channel file | Not stated by most low-cost listings | Request in writing |
| Residence visa, per person | AED 5,690 | Indicative site-wide model |
| Medical fitness and Emirates ID | Included in the per-visa figure above | Indicative site-wide model |
| Flexi-desk or office | Bundled in some packages, billed separately in others | Check the listing |
| Document attestation and translation | Not stated by most low-cost listings | Request in writing |
| Bank minimum balance | Set by the bank, not the authority | Confirm with the bank |
| Renewal | Not stated on most low-cost listings | Request in writing before signing |
Cheapest with a visa versus without a visa
The single biggest fork in this decision is whether you need UAE residence. A zero-visa licence is a real company that can hold contracts and, subject to bank policy, a bank account — it simply grants no residency.
Once you add one residence visa, the indicative build-up of AED 5,690 plus an Establishment Card of about AED 1,850 lands on top of the licence fee. That is why a licence advertised at a very low figure and a licence advertised somewhat higher can end up close together once one visa is included — the visa dominates.
| Configuration | What is included | Cost drivers |
|---|---|---|
| Zero visa | Licence and registered address | Licence fee only |
| One visa | Licence, Establishment Card, one residence visa | Licence + AED 1,850 + AED 5,690 |
| Two people | Licence, Establishment Card, two residence visas | Licence + AED 1,850 + AED 11,380 |
Cheapest routes by emirate
Prices below are the lowest published on this marketplace for each emirate, verified on the same date. Where nothing is listed for an emirate, this page says so rather than filling the gap with an estimate.
- Dubai — Dubai's cheapest listed routes are free zone licences (Meydan from AED 9,750, IFZA from AED 10,062). Mainland licensing costs more but grants direct local trading rights.
- Sharjah — SHAMS is the low-cost entry route, from AED 4,462, strongest for media and creative activities.
- Ajman — from AED 3,813, consistently among the lowest published licence fees in the country.
- Ras Al Khaimah — RAKEZ from AED 4,680, with a wide activity range across service, trading and industrial licences.
- Fujairah — Creative City from AED 6,000, aimed at media and consultancy activities.
- Abu Dhabi and Umm Al Quwain — no low-cost package is currently listed on this marketplace at the time of verification; request current fees from the authority.
Can you pay for a UAE trade licence in instalments?
Instalment offers exist, but they are almost always a provider payment plan rather than an authority one: the consultancy fronts the government fee and recovers it in stages, sometimes through a third-party finance partner.
Two questions settle whether an instalment offer is sound. First, is the licence actually issued at the start, or only after the final payment? Second, is the total under the plan higher than the one-off price, and by how much? Both answers should be in writing before you accept.
Government fees themselves are payable to the authority on its own terms, so treat any claim that an authority is financing your licence with scepticism.
When the cheapest licence is the wrong choice
- Bank onboarding: banks assess substance, activity and jurisdiction. The very cheapest zero-visa structures are the hardest to bank.
- Visa quota ceilings: entry-level packages often allow one visa or none, and upgrading later costs more than buying the right tier initially.
- Activity restrictions: a cheap licence covering the wrong activity is worthless, and amendments carry their own fee.
- Mainland trading rights: a free zone licence does not let you trade directly inside the UAE market without a distributor or branch.
- Client credibility: some corporate clients and tender processes look at jurisdiction and premises.
- Renewal escalation: a low year-one promotion can normalise at renewal. Ask for year two in writing before you compare.
- opening a corporate bank account — Why cheap structures face the toughest compliance questions
- Dubai mainland packages — When direct local trading rights are worth the higher fee
Realistic first-year cost, three scenarios
The table below combines a published licence price with this site's indicative government model. It is a planning figure, not a quotation, and it is deliberately built from labelled components so you can replace any line with your own written quote.
| Scenario | Components | Indicative additions |
|---|---|---|
| Solo, zero visa | Licence only | None |
| Solo, one visa | Licence + Establishment Card + one visa | AED 1,850 + AED 5,690 |
| Two-person operation | Licence + Establishment Card + two visas | AED 1,850 + AED 11,380 |
- estimate your total setup cost — Runs this model against your own visa count and licence type
Key takeaways
- The lowest published licences on this marketplace are zero-visa northern-emirate free zone licences, verified 2026-09-13.
- A low headline fee is licence-only: visas, Establishment Card and renewal sit outside it.
- One residence visa adds roughly AED 5,690 on this site's indicative model, plus the Establishment Card.
- Instalment offers are provider payment plans, not authority financing — check whether the licence issues up front.
- Cheapest is the wrong target when banking, visa quota, activity scope or mainland trading rights matter.
Frequently asked questions
- Which is the cheapest trade licence in the UAE?
- The lowest published prices on this marketplace are zero-visa free zone licences in the northern emirates, starting from AED 3,813 as verified on 2026-09-13. That price covers the licence and a registered address, not residence visas or renewal.
- What is the cheapest trade licence in the UAE with a visa?
- Adding one residence visa costs roughly AED 5,690 on this site's indicative model, plus an Establishment Card of about AED 1,850. The cheapest one-visa route is therefore a low-fee northern-emirate free zone licence with a single visa allocation rather than the lowest licence fee on its own.
- Can I get a UAE trade licence without a visa?
- Yes. Zero-visa and non-resident licences are offered by several free zones and are the cheapest legitimate route. You get a licensed company with no residence visa allocation, no Emirates ID and no UAE residency, which suits founders based outside the UAE.
- What is the cheapest business licence in Dubai?
- Dubai's lowest published routes on this marketplace are free zone licences — Meydan from AED 9,750 and IFZA from AED 10,062, verified 2026-09-13. Mainland licensing costs more but is the option that permits direct trading inside the local market.
- Can I pay for a UAE trade licence in instalments?
- Instalment plans are usually offered by consultancies rather than by the licensing authority, which is paid its fee on its own terms. Before accepting, confirm in writing whether the licence is issued at the start of the plan and whether the total exceeds the one-off price.
- Why do cheap trade licences cost more at renewal?
- Because year-one pricing often includes a promotional discount or bundles one-off incorporation work that does not recur, while the annual licence and facility charges continue at standard rates. Ask for the year-two figure in writing and compare that, not just the launch price.
- Will banks open an account for a cheap free zone licence?
- Sometimes, but the cheapest zero-visa structures face the toughest compliance questions because banks assess substance, activity and jurisdiction. A clear business plan, client or supplier contracts and a resident signatory materially improve the outcome.
- Is the cheapest licence valid for mainland trading?
- No. A free zone licence does not permit direct trading inside the UAE mainland market; that requires a distributor, a branch, or a mainland licence. If your customers are UAE-based businesses or consumers, the cheapest licence may not be usable for your model.
Sources and further reading
Figures on this page are either provider-published prices recorded in our verification workbook (last checked 2026-09-13) or clearly labelled indicative cost models. Fees can change — always confirm in writing before paying.
About the author
Sherwin Jesuraj
Business Setup Industry Expert
Sherwin Jesuraj writes about UAE company formation, mainland and free zone options, business setup costs, and entrepreneurship. His content for BusinessSetup.ae helps readers understand their options, compare practical requirements, and make informed decisions before starting a business.
Connect with Sherwin on LinkedInCompare real packages, not estimates
Verified providers, published pricing, no commission added.